This year's Annual General Meeting (AGM) took place on 10 November 2021 online, and was very well attended, with over 40 participants welcomed to the meeting.  

Convener David McClements chaired the meeting and provided his Conveners Report. The report highlighted the roles and responsibilities of the Board of Trustees and how they continued to meet monthly throughout the pandemic, fulfilling their governance role, and sometimes having to make difficult but necessary decisions. David spoke of the extensive services and support that Alzheimer Scotland had provided, and continued to provide, along with the important contribution of our Dementia Resource Centres. Our range of communications was mentioned, including our Dementia in Scotland magazine and the ‘COVID-19, The Hidden Impact’ report.  

David gave thanks and appreciation to the Trustees for their service to the organisation, noting each of the retiring Trustees along with tributes paid to the late Lesley Diack and Archie Noone.  

Henry Simmons provided his Chief Executives’ Report covering the period from January 2020 to present day. This enabled Members to see the timeline from the immediate impact of the pandemic, through the period of refocus and new approaches, to the recovery stage and where we are now.  Henry presented our National Vision for Transformation (from prevention to advanced illness), and said that the focus of our policy campaigning is to have this implemented as part of a Scottish Government commitment in line with our seven key recommendations for moving forward.

Bernard O’Hagan introduced the Treasurer’s Report and Alzheimer Scotland's Executive Lead for Finance, Liz Roxburgh provided a presentation of the annual accounts for 2020/21.  Members approved the annual accounts and to reappoint our auditors BDO for a further year.

The AGM approved the election of Geoff Orry and Thea Laurie as new Trustees, and to the re-election of Tracey Ward – all for terms of three years.  The designated representative places for the Scottish Dementia Working Group and National Dementia Carers Action Network were approved as Geoff Orry and Joanna Boddy.  A special resolution to amend the Memorandum and Articles of Association was approved.

If you are not currently a member of Alzheimer Scotland but would like to join, you can find out more here